This issue of waiting…

It never goes away!

Here I was, on a Friday evening with an impending early flight booked for Saturday morning. I had laboured all day and met all my deadlines (well maybe except one. Or two). My dear computer had laboured with me all day long faithfully. I believe you would wonder with me, why then in the evening, with just one report to forward to my superiors and thereafter gleefully call it a day, my dear computer would suddenly freeze me out and keep me glued to my desk for at least another hour and a half while Friday evening gleefully and speedily metamorphosed into Friday night!Ā  You can imagine my irritation!

Try all I could it would not respond. Forced shutdowns and restarts. Nothing. I threw up my hands in despair and decided to take a short walk.

Just as I was about returning to the struggle it dawned on me that I had to have been tied there to my desk for that time for a purpose. A purpose I may never know. I asked myself “do you know what God has used this “annoying” computer to save you from?”

From that moment on I had peace and proceeded with the report with thanks. I got home much later than I intended but I was safe and thankful.

Come Saturday morning. All was set. The flight was in motion. Then it was announced that we had to just sit at the runway for 45 minutes as a dignitary was travelling hence we had to wait for their takeoff.

I’ll just say the rest of the same Saturday was spent waiting. For this and for that. Until I got a call from an intended host thanking God that I was delayed somewhere without which delay I would have ended up in a 3 hour traffic jam hungry, tired and angry!

Imagine how thankful I was after that call! I was even thankful that at least I had found out the reason for at least one of the delays!

Now waiting is not easy. It has never been. It may never be. But it is highly important for us to slow down sometimes in the heat of our anger and ask ourselves what reasons we could actually be delayed for. These are things we just never know. But one thing is sure: we have a loving Father who watches our every step and keeps us.

We are told in Romans 8:28 that all things work together for good for those who love God and are called according to His purpose. Bearing this in mind, with the fact that “the steps of the righteous are ordered by the Lord”, why do we get so worked up about delays?

God always has a plan. Of this we should be sure. Let us give thanks to Him even when we may not understand what He is doing. He has our backs hence we need not worry or fret. Yes, time wasted or lost is painful. But is He not the owner of time? If He uses time for one thing to save us from another, is He not faithful to help us recover the “lost” time in another way?

And is the time with which we are saved from danger really “wasted”? What if we waste 2 hours and are thereby prevented from wasting 6 months on a hospital bed?

What are you waiting for? Know that if you are walking in God’s will He will surely come through for you.

In everything give thanks for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. 1 Thessalonians 5:18.

Wait with grace. Wait with patience. Wait with joy.

God bless you.

Maxx’

4 thoughts on “This issue of waiting…

  1. Ha! What an inspirational word – all things worketh together 4 our good. I do not like to wait – but sometimes God allows us a lesson or two in waiting so we can learn to trust Him more – He is after all – THE GOD OF ETERNITY, simply TIMELESS! šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks Maxx. Very timely reminder in the microwave world we now live in. It is increasingly difficult to ‘wait’ but wait we must cos He that believes God shall not make haste. Besides, ALL things work together for our good, and that holds even when we cannot see how. Bless your heart. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks my people.

      If we can’t rush mere humans from whom we are expecting help how do we even think we can get the King of kings to hurry up and do our every whim as if He were just sitting somewhere idle waiting for our cries? Lol

      We really need to learn to just trust Him. Just trust blind, hot trust! Whether we understand or not, trust.

Leave a Reply

